comfort food

24 Feb

All I want right now is some mashed potatoes and chicken noodle soup.  And an electric blanket.

I’ve actually never been in this situation, where I’m waiting for the impending doom and I know exactly what it will look like.  When I get sick, which is rare (last time was January 2008, and in retrsospect I know precisely who gave it to me in that germ hole of a school I worked in), I’m never quite sure of what unpleasantries lie in store for me…just a cough and sore throat? some barfing perhaps? dull aches and chills? will it be intense and over in a day, or long and drawn out?  But this time, I can predict almost to the hour what will happen and when it will happen, symptom-wise.  My boyfriend spent 10 days on the east coast with family who flew in from out of the country, and the whole lot of them (mom, dad, aunts and uncles, cousins, and the brothers and sisters and kids of all of them) got whatever it is that was brought over here from eastern Europe.  Symptoms include chest congestion, fever, chills, headache, puking.  I’m only in the first stage, no fever yet, but it’s moving along in the same way it did for my boyfriend, whose course is about 3 days ahead of mine.  Maybe this is good practice for getting old and inevitably getting some horrible progressive disease that comes with its own pamphlet about what to expect as your body erodes.  Note, I’m still not dying young, don’t worry. That’s the whole point of this anyway, isn’t it.

Anyway, I already had some comfort food for lunch — tomato basil soup (bisque, probably – so creamy) and a grilled cheese sandwich on wheat.  Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.   I hate being sick for so many reasons obviously but one of them is that it makes it really hard  to stick to an eating plan.

Leave a Reply

