accountability.

12 Feb

Alright I guess I’ve got to come clean, even if it’s just to this little corner of Intertoobs and not with a megaphone from my rooftop.

Apparently I’m rather good at sticking to a diet/lifestyle change when all other ares of my life are going smoothly.  But as soon as the excrement hits the ventilation system, awareness of and adhesion to a healthy way of stuffing things into my face hole is the first thing to go (aside from maybe personal hygiene…don’t make me tell you how many days it’s been since I washed my hair).

This week really was just about getting a lot of stuff finished by the one day that’s been circled on my calendar for weeks, 10 FEBRUARY 2011, THURSDAY. I’m happy to say it’s the 12th and I survived.  However, there was way too much brain power expended and sleep lost.  It was painful.

So of course, I used food as an emotional release.  I’m actually surprised at how relatively well I did leading up to the deadline, but Wednesday, Thursday and Friday were filled with a hot mess of fat and cheese and ice cream.   I did lose that 1.5 lbs. from last week as of Wednesday, but the current week’s anytime weekly points are already beyond used up.  Let me tell you exactly what happened since then:

Wednesday: My brain is so fried from busting out a project paper, that I space out and deny that I’ve got a midterm I know nothing for the next day.

  • B: pretty lean – 3 points; fake pancakes (egg whites & FF ricotta w/ SF syrup); 1/2 a grapefruit
  • L: 16-point salad — greens, olives, black beans, balsamic vinaigrette, craisins, sunflower seeds, shrooms, tomatoes, a little chicken breast, carrots, 2 laughing cow wedges, an apple.
  • D: here’s where it got hairy.  J brought home Dick’s for me (GREAT, THANKS) and my will and resolve were threadbare at this point.  I ate them.  I estimate that to be 15 points (1 patty, no cheese, 1/2 a small fries).  THEN we got Thai food take-out (no noodles though, thankfully) — and I have no idea how much of that I ate. It was mostly chicken, veggies, and coconut milk/curry (and about 3/4 c brown rice) – so I estimate 12 points.  Then I had dark chocolate to stay awake, and a NSA fudgesicle.  All in all, a whopping 32 points for dinner.
  • TOTAL: 51 P+

Thursday: The only thing I am thinking about today is cramming for this test.

  • B: my go-to breakfast of 7 points: 1/2 cup FF greek yogurt, 1/4 c sunflower seeds, 1/2 cup berries, 1 tsp honey.  Oh yeah plus a venti soy latte for 5 points.  Total 12 points.
  • L: Chipotle bowl with rice, beans, barbacoa, veggies, corn and verde salsas, sour cream, and lettuce. Plus Coke zero.  Total 11 points.
  • S: after my horrible day was over, we went to a cafe and I got a healthy-looking pecan cookie.  Except really it was 4 points.
  • D: Mexican.  I ate about 2/3 of my creamy chipotle chicken burrito which had sauce, chicken, rice, beans, sour cream, and sauteed veggies.  I don’t know why I ignored “creamy” — obviously that’s a bad sign.  But such a good, good sign too.  Plus tortilla chips and a Corona light.  I was throwing caution to the wind.
  • TOTAL: 50 P+

Friday: I don’t even know at this point.

  • B: English muffin with regular cream cheese (probably 2 Tbsp), an egg, and sparse veggies (from a cafe, on the go). Plus half&half in my coffee since I couldn’t be bothered to bother them for skim. 9 points
  • S: banana
  • L: enormous Whole Foods salad.  I went a bit nuts.  Spinach, kale, garbanzos, bleu cheese, sunflower seeds, and some other random zero-point veggies, plus 1T olive oil and balsamic.  Diet coke.  Uh that salad was $12 and hurt my arm carrying it home.  12 points
  • D: oh god.  J made homemade pizza (with white flour since he thinks it makes a better crust than whole-wheat, ugh).  I topped my side with mozzarella, a few (6?) pepperonis, garlic and bell peppers.  I didn’t eat crusts and it was pretty thin (11 points).  But then I had so much cheap wine (11 points).  And then we got fro-yo…and at this point I didn’t want to think about the points so I just copied what I figured it was last time we went and said 12 points.
  • TOTAL: 55 P+. Good GRIEF.

So needless to say, it’s going to be a lean next four days.  That’s alright.  J is off with family on the east coast, which means I probably won’t have as many temptations.  And as for my veg-jihad, let me just say that I had FF cottage cheese with 1/2 a cup of tomatoes and snap peas for BREAKFAST.  Yessss. Go me.

In exercise-related news, I got my Zumba and Jillian Michaels DVDs and I am pumped (clap, point) to have time to do them now.  I’ve done two half-hour sessions of the Zumba cardio in a pinch but I can see myself actually waking up and doing an hour in the mornings.  Unless I can’t tolerate Beto and his midriff-bearing ho’s that early.  Here’s hoping the daily dose of cheez will replace the cravings for actual cheese in my life.

Leave a Reply

