plan for 1/28

27 Jan

Sometimes my laziness amazes me.  I love dancing, I love going to Zumba, I don’t even feel like it’s HARD (which is often why I dread exercise) because it’s so fun, even though I sweat like a mother. Like a mother giving birth. Yes, that’s probably accurate.  Yet sometimes I am so lazy or busy doing something else, that I don’t go even when I would really rather do that than anything else at the moment.  My chicken-roasting got in the way of getting to Zumba on time, so about an hour before the class start time I abandoned all hope of going.  And now I probably won’t exercise today…unless I can finish my prep for tomorrow’s sessions at a reasonable hour so I can get in 20 min of yoga before bed.

Food today was good again. I went one point over, but that included dessert (ricotta/splenda/cocoa) AND a glass of pinot grigio (I know, not exactly South Beach approved, oh well).  My roasted chicken rocks.  I like spending time dressing the chicken, is that weird?  It is hilarious, jiggling around six pounds of flesh in the sink.  I noted today that it felt like picking up my cat if she were cold-blooded and hairless.  Then I started thinking about how many minutes I would have to roast the cat if it ever came to that.  My stupid thoughts are so amusing.  Anyway, I also like spending time with the whole dead bird because as much as I like to manipulate its joints that still move (creepy) and laugh at sticking my hand up its ass (or down its neck? I can’t tell) to pat it dry before the spice mixture, this animal deserves some R-E-S-P-E-C-T.  It came from a (somewhat) local farm, wasn’t frozen, and all its parts will be used and enjoyed.  Giving it a little TLC rub-down, and contemplating if the one I had last week was its brother or its mother, connects me much more to my food than nuking a couple of frozen Tyson chicken boobs.  If I were really hard-core about this I would’ve participated in the turkey slaughter at my friend’s farm last Thanksgiving (they had about nine turkeys, had two for the giant partyfeast, and gave away the others to friends & soup kitchens).  But I think for now I’m good at this limit of “farm fresh” closeness.

Oh right.  The plan for tomorrow:

B – 2 breakfast chicken sausage links, extra lean; 1 c roasted veggie leftovers; 1/2 a grapefruit

S – 1/2 c yogurt w/ 1/4 c blueberries, 1/4 c sunflower seeds

L – 2 oz chicken shreds, 1/2 c garbanzos, lots of lettuce/raw veg; 1 T homemade dressing; 1 T lowfat sour cream

S – apple; 1 laughing cow cheese wedge

D – leftover chicken (4 oz) & veggies (6 oz)

I also learned today that my eyeballing of four ounces of wine is actually very accurate.  I still got it! booyeah

Leave a Reply

